Awuleth' iPen yami Pen yam'

Monday, February 13, 2012


Congratulations Zambia for clinching the Africa Cup of Nations, what an amazing, inspiring win. Chipolopolo, our new champions! They were small, they were unknown, they were not expected to prevail, they were against “giants,” but then they fought till the very end. And in that resilience, champions were born.

What an honor to the spirits of the original team who perished in the 1993 crash in Gabon— Efford Chabala, Richard Mwanza, John Soko, Whiteson Changwe, Robert Watyakeni, Estone Mulenga, Derby Makinka, Moses Chikwalakwala, Wisdom Chansa, Kelvin Mutale, Timothy Mwitwa, Numba Mwila, Samuel Chomba, Moses Masuwa, Kenani Simambe, Godfrey Kangwa, Winter Mumba and Patrick Banda - along with Zambian Football Association president Michael Mwape and coaches Godfrey Chitalu and Alex Chola. Close to two decades on, the new boys have written the first team in the sun. and our heads are tilted skyward... in respect.

No comments:

Post a Comment